My new guitar

Me and my new guitar

It was time for a new guitar and a new sound.

My custom Ovation Adamas was unlike any ordinary Ovation because it had been built especially for me, using special materials and a special pickup system.

It had been my primary instrument for fifteen years of global touring and recording. It was a great guitar.

Its replacement would have to be just as good or better.

I wanted a custom-made acoustic six-string baritone guitar built to the scale-length and dimensions of the Ovation, only this time made of wood, and where possible, of reclaimed and British-sourced woods.

Since I live in Scotland, I also wanted to support a Scottish business, so I was looking for a local luthier.

I had met a luthier at a gig I played in Ayr a few years earlier named Mark Bailey. He was displaying some of his guitars in the foyer of the venue, and I had admired the beauty of his archtop jazz guitars.

His company, Bailey Guitars, was located in a solar and wind-powered workshop near Maybole in the Ayrshire countryside a beautiful half-hour drive from my house.

I called Mark and asked if we could get together to talk about creating a custom guitar. He said he was interested and we arranged a meeting.

Decades of performing and recording had taught me the features and characteristics I wanted in the sound and design of a guitar, as well as those I did not want.

Mark seemed to understand what I wanted intuitively.

We agreed on a price and a timescale.

Consultations were needed from the outset. Body dimensions needed to be changed to accommodate the extended scale-length. Considerations of how the guitar would balance when worn with a strap had to be worked out.

I came to realise I was a demanding customer with very particular requirements. But Mark always seemed to enjoy the challenges and problem-solving involved.

I visited the workshop many times during the two-month build. It was exciting to watch the progress as the woods were chosen (I went for a cedar top and mahogany back, sides and neck because I love the sound of those woods), the body assembled, the trim inlayed, the neck fitted on, the spraying completed, and the electronics installed.

At the beginning of each visit, Mark would show me the most recent progress he had made.

He would tap on the English cedar top at each stage of the bracing process, showing me the percussive live-ness and resonance he had managed to bring out.

He made me do little things — write an inscription on the underside of the top, bend a piece of trim on a wood-bending iron — so I would feel I had been part of the build.

He also listened to my music a lot on the workshop stereo while building the guitar.

The resulting instrument exceeded what I had envisioned. It was and is an awesome example of the luthier’s art, beautiful to play, to hear, and to look at.

The sound is powerful and clear, yet warm and intimate. I’ve had the guitar for several months now and it’s getting bigger and deeper as it ages.

What I appreciate most about Mark is that he asked for, and welcomed, my input at every stage of the build. I think he really wanted me to love the instrument he was creating.

Because of that I have ended up with a very personal instrument that fits me.

I got the guitar I wanted, and I love it.

Bailey Guitars

This entry was posted in Creativity, Guitar, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My new guitar

  1. Thomas says:

    Sweet…can’t wait till you come to Leeds on the 21st

  2. Dwane Arthur says:

    So glad you found the “Right Person” to create what I am sure is a great guitar. Would love to see a photo and can not wait for you to “tickle my ears” with it.

    Good Luck Your friend in Tennessee USA
    Dwane [cuggie on facebook ect]

  3. JikuJikuJin says:

    what a nicely written story. really warm. makes me want to pay more attention to types of wood guitars are made of.

  4. Hey Preston…
    thrilled to here about the new instrument….and of course will be looking forward to hearing it on a future recording …
    Quite impressed at your choice of Ceder, as I’ve found that Ceder is an exceptionally mellow sounding wood which will undoubtedly add some remarkable dynamics to your explosive sound..Have been reading a lot about this new Tool called the TONE-RIGHT system which apparently both enhances and speeds up the new guitar break in period . Essentially technically supposed to duplicate months or even years of playing vibrations into the wood …

    For your reference both Usa and international versions are available and can be viewed at the following links

    http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Accessories/ToneRite/ToneRite.html?tab=Details#details

  5. Anyway enjoy and keep picking your Rhode island FAN

    Nick

  6. Stew aka GatoCat - Lawrence KS days says:

    It is my humble thought that there now exists an instrument that is truly an extension of the artist. I was blessed by meeting you and sitting within a few feet at two of your performances in Lawrence KS. Hosted by Mid-West music. I hope to live long enough to hear this instrument under similar conditions. I would love to be in a position to do the same only with drums, cymbals, and such.
    Your “stuck in Nashville” old acquaintance,
    Stew

  7. Hi Preston,

    Fantastic news about the new guitar. Sounds like an extremely special instrument. Really looking forward to hearing you play it. Shame the Ovation has had to be put out to pasture though.

    Gutted I couldn’t make it to see you in Islington earlier this year, by the way. But will definitely shift Heaven and Earth to be there next time you are down in the London area.

    All the best.

    Martin

  8. Priscilla says:

    Can’t wait to hear your new guitar when you come to CA! It was fun reading about how it was made.

  9. Marco says:

    I would love to hear you playing it

  10. Pingback: 41 Stories » Blog Archive » Preston Reed – One of the World’s Most Musically Gifted Guitarists – Part 2

Leave a comment